Short stories by Benjamin Percy

Benjamin Percy is the author of four novels, the most recent among them The Dark Net(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017). He is also the author of The Dead Lands (Grand Central/Hachette, 2015), Red Moon (Grand Central/Hachette, 2013) and The Wilding (Graywolf Press, 2010), as well as two books of short stories, Refresh, Refresh (Graywolf Press, 2007) and The Language of Elk (Grand Central/Hachette, 2012; Carnegie Mellon University Press, 2006). His craft book — Thrill Me: Essays on Fiction — was published by Graywolf Press in 2016 and is now widely taught in creative writing classrooms. His next book of short stories — Suicide Woods — will be published in October of 2019 by Graywolf. His sci-fi trilogy — The Comet Cycle — will be published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in 2021. The media rights have been picked up by the Russo brothers (Avengers: Infinity War, Captain America: Civil War). He broke in to comics in 2014, with a two-issue Batman story arc for Detective Comics. He is know for his celebrated runs on Wolverine, Nightwing, Green Arrow, Teen Titans, and James Bond. He is part of the new dawn of X-Men at Marvel and currently writes X-Force.

Listing 1 story.

When all the able-bodied men of a small town in Oregon get sent to the war front in Iraq, two teenage boys are left behind. They vent their frustration, seek revenge on those who have wronged them, and ultimately grow up to be like their fathers, despite their fathers' absence.